BurgerRodeo

just a kid writing about burgers

Burgers, Bacon and Cheese… Oh My!

Today I visited the Chesapeake Grill on US Route 40 in Havre de Grace. This is my “local” diner and it is a family favorite. I have been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner with Mom & Dad and my grandparents. I remember when it was called the Lighthouse Diner and it had a giant blue & white striped lighthouse in the parking lot. It still has nautical/maritime decorations inside with model ships and paintings.

I had the bacon cheeseburger. It is an 8 ounce hand-formed beef patty with American cheese and hickory smoked bacon. Fries, pickle and coleslaw are served as sides. You can have your burger with lettuce, tomato, pickles, onions, mayo, ketchup and mustard. I had it with just lettuce & tomato. (Seriously people! What kind of mayoholic puts mayo on a burger? That’s just yucky!!!)

Here is my burger before I did my stuff!

The burger was really juicy. The bacon a little salty and it could have been crispier. The cheese was white American and not yellow American which is something you don’t see a lot.

The only bad thing is that the burger is so big. After about half an hour I still wasn’t finished and I had to surrender. BURGER EATING FAIL!!! Here is a picture of what I had left. It was just 2 bites but it was too much. Give me a break – I am only a kid and this is a big, big, big, BIG burger.

I award this burger 6 out of 10. It is a little too big for a kid, but probably just right for an adult.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Burgers, Bacon and Cheese… Oh My!

  1. burgerrodeo on said:

    Dad had a cheeseburger, no bacon. He ordered his “medium” which was pink in the middle and had lots of juice. He had lettuce, tomato, grilled onion & mustard. It looked OK, but I think mustard spoils a burger. Dad says he awards his burger 7 out of 10.

  2. I’m not sure the last time I saw white American cheese either.

  3. Pingback: Patty Melt at the Chesapeake Grill « BurgerRodeo

Leave a Reply

