BurgerRodeo

just a kid writing about burgers

Drivin’ in to Wrights Dairy Rite

We were visiting Staunton, Virgina in the Shenandoah Valley and after checking out the historic buildings downtown we went to the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Museum. After that, I was pretty hungry so Dad looked in a city guidebook and found an old drive-in restaurant that had been there since the 1950s. It’s called Wrights Dairy Rite and its located on US Route 11 heading south out of town (thanks Google maps!).

I ordered the Burger in a Basket which is a nice simple 2 oz burger served in a basket of french fries. I had lettuce and tomato on my burger, but there are plenty of other toppings if you want to build your own burger. Mom had mushrooms on hers (UGH!) and Dad had red onion (BLERGH!). You can get double burgers (4 oz), 1/3 lb burgers and even a 1/2 lb “monster” burger.

The burger was cooked fresh to order (this means it is fresh… but it also means it takes a little longer than a fast food restaurant) and it was good quality & juicy meat. The single 2 oz burger wasn’t really enough to satisfy my hunger so I was glad I had the fries.

If you want a snack you should order the 2 oz. If you’re hungry you should order the double or bigger.

The fries were nice and crispy crinkle-cut. I like crinkle-cut. They make a change from the straight cut fries you get everywhere else. Here is my advice to people who own burger restaurants… you should sell regular fries, crinkle-cut fries, curly fries and tater tots. That way you will keep everybody happy!

A burger is only $1.90 and a cheeseburger is only $2.30 which is a good price.  The burger basket with fries only cost $3.89 which is a good deal if you have hungry kids. They will cook your burgers any way you want them. I had mine medium well. So did Mom. Dad had his medium. (Yeah, folks! Mom let Dad have a burger! We were on vacation so this explains it.)

I award this burger a score of 5 out of 10. I think if I had ordered a bigger burger and added a few more toppings then I might have been able to increase the score to 6 or 7. (Dad says his was definitely a 7 out of 10.)

I also had strawberry milkshake. Booya!

If you are traveling in the Shenandoah Valley and you are looking for a cool place to eat then definitely go to Staunton and stop for lunch at this drive in restaurant. There is no reason to stop at a McDonalds or a Burger King when you can stop at cool places like this.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

