BurgerRodeo

just a kid writing about burgers

Super Crazy Yummy! Sammy T’s Gourmet Burger

We were paying a family visit to Fredericksburg, Virginia and my Mom insisted that we stop at Sammy T’s which is a restaurant she used to go to when she was at college. The restaurant was founded in 1981 by a professor from Mary Washington College which is a big deal for Mom. (She still calls it Mary Washington College and refuses to call it the University of Mary Washington.)

I ordered the Gourmet Burger (seven ounces of lean, ground, seasoned beef grilled to your specifications on a multigrain roll with lettuce, tomato and red onion) and I added cheddar cheese and bacon. I also had a side order of sweet potato fries.

The burger was super crazy yummy! I asked for it to be cooked “medium” instead of my usual “medium well” because my Dad is always nagging me about my burgers being cooked for too long. He says that “medium” burgers have more juices and more flavors. So I decided to risk it. It was pretty darn good. It was one of the best I have eaten so far during this blog.

Dad ordered a vegan salad with felafel. Ha, ha! Can you tell that Mom was here and making sure Dad only ordered healthy food? It sucks to be him! I know that he really wanted to have a burger too.

Mom ordered an apple cheddar melt, which is kinda like a cheeseburger… but only if you replace the burger patty with apple slices!

Grandad ordered a BBQ sandwich. At least that has meat in it!

Nana ordered a Grill 3 (one slice each of cheddar, swiss and mozzarella grilled on your choice of toast). She actually is a vegetarian, so not eating meat is important to her. I could not be a vegetarian because I enjoy eating burgers too much.

Back to my burger. It was super crazy yummy. The cheddar was tangy and the bacon was awesome. The only thing I wasn’t crazy about was the mustard that came on the burger. Next time I’ll order mustard & ketchup on the side and decide how much I want to put on.

Overall I award this burger 8 out of 10. I was going to say 7.5 but my Dad says it was my own fault for not asking the waitress to put mustard on the side. He says I should not blame her or deduct half a point. So it is an 8 out of 10.

P.S. We went to Carl’s Frozen Custard for desert and Mom actually let Dad order a (small) strawberry soft serve. Carl’s is awesome. Go to Carl’s now. I think the strawberry is best.

P.P.S. There was a photo of my burger, but it is on my Nana’s camera and she has taken it back to England with her! If I can get her to email the photo then I will post it here. Until then, here is a photo of some kittens.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Super Crazy Yummy! Sammy T’s Gourmet Burger

  1. My salad was delicious, thank you. Although I would have loved a burger.

  2. Christine Szymanski on said:

    I, too, have spent many a day eating at Sammy T’s. Dr. Emery was my geography professor. He is the one who started it. Like your mom, I do not think I can ever say “Mary Washington University”. My absolute favorite sandwich is the Apple Cheddar Melt. No matter how many times I try to replicate it at home, it is just not the same! Go “Blue Tide”

  3. Pingback: Best Burgers of 2012 « BurgerRodeo

Leave a Reply

