BurgerRodeo

just a kid writing about burgers

Bombay Curry Veggie Burger

I like American burgers and I like Indian curry. That’s because my Mom is American and my Dad is English. (He says the national food of England s curry, not fish and chips!) So when we saw these Dr. Praeger’s Bombay Curry Veggie Burgers on sale at Seven Mile Market it was a “no brainer” that we tried them.

They are 4 frozen burgers in each packet and you can cook them from frozen. Ingredients include carrots, onions, oat bran, soybeans, etc. They contain no meat products at all. Dad says this means they are “vegan” not “vegetarian.”

Dad made one of his salads (he’s getting quite good at those) and some Alexia onion rings (the best onion rings you can make at home) and we grilled the curry burgers under the broiler (I have no idea what a broiler is, but Dad says that’s what we used). When we were at the grocery store I picked out some nice Italian bread buns to serve the burgers on. Mom and Dad put mayonnaise on theirs (the always do this with veggie burgers), but I had mine plain. I do not like mayonnaise. I think I have mentioned that in my blog before. ABOUT FIVE HUNDRED TIMES!

Here is a photo of my burger. It actually tasted pretty good. I like Indian food and the burger had all the yummy curry flavors that I wanted. It was not too hot. In fact it was quite mild. I can eat hot curries because I am used to them (thanks, Dad!). You could make the burger hotter by mixing up a curry sauce or a curry ketchup. If you like HOT curry then you should do this.

The big problem with this burger was that it was crunchy on the outside but soft on the inside. It was too soft to be called a burger. Burgers should be thick and have a firm inside that you can really bite into. This wasn’t so good.

I award this “burger” a score of 6 out of 10 for flavor (I would make a hot ketchup to spice it up next time) and only 4 out of 10 for it’s contents (it was just too soft). It’s average score is 5 out of 10.

I would recommend this “burger” to vegetarians and to people who want to try something different. If you like pure burgers made of meat then this is probably not something you will like.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

