BurgerRodeo

just a kid writing about burgers

Burgers at the Battlefield

Dad drove up to Gettysburg for one of our regular field trips to the battlefield and we decided to look for somewhere that served burgers.

We stopped at The Avenue Restaurant which is a diner on Steinwehr Avenue.

Dad is always talking about restaurants like this one. “Old tables…” blah, blah, blah. “Booths….” blah, blah, blah. “1950s…” blah, blah, blah. “Homestyle cooking…” blah, blah, blah. “How restaurants used to be…” blah, blah, blah. The waitress kept bringing him fresh coffee and he can drink buckets of that stuff. There were old photos and newspaper articles hanging on the walls. Dad loves all that junk. So this restaurant made him really happy.

Avenue Burger

Avenue Burger

We both ordered burgers. I ordered the Avenue Burger (6 oz ground steak patty) with lettuce, tomato and Swiss cheese (my choice, other cheese also available). Dad ordered a Michael’s Special bacon cheeseburger. He can only get away with diet-busting food when Mom isn’t there!

My burger was decent for a diner burger. The 6oz patty is a good size – not so small that it shrinks when cooking & not so big that you can’t eat it. The Swiss cheese was nicely melted onto the burger. I agree with Bobby Flay that cheese should be melted onto the burger and not sit there as a cold slice. But there was a lot of cheese… perhaps too much?

I had my burger patty cooked “medium well” and it was nice and juicy.

My side order of French fries was crispy. I did not eat my pickle spear, but Dad said they were good & crunchy.

I award the Avenue Burger a score of 6 out of 10. I would have said 6.5 out of 10, but I think there was a just a bit too much cheese.

I will definitely be back at The Avenue Restaurant on future trips to Gettysburg. We roll in once or twice a year, so it won’t be long!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

